The board of trustees is the guardian of Harlem Academy’s mission. It is the board’s responsibility to ensure the mission is relevant and vital to the community it serves, to monitor the success of the school in fulfilling its mission, and to support and promote the mission in the broader community.
The board of trustees is responsible for setting the school’s vision and a strategic plan for realizing the vision. Trustees ensure that their efforts – individually and collaboratively – contribute to the execution of the Strategic Plan and realization of the vision. The advisory council complements the work of the board within a more informal structure. Each member lends their wisdom, endorsement, and philanthropy toward the continued realization of our mission and vision. The junior board is a group of young professionals passionate about Harlem Academy. Their goals are to help move the mission forward, cultivate a base of supporters who are committed to our students, and serve as volunteers. 

Board of Trustees

List of 3 items.

  • Officers

    David B. Peterson | Chair
    CEO, Onera Media
    Rodney Pope | Secretary, Facilities Committee Chair
    Vice President and Senior Human Relations Director, Turner Construction
    Carol B. Kenney | Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair
  • Trustees

    Tony Asnes
    Head of Investor Relations, Pershing Square Capital Management, L.P.

    Richard A. Axilrod
    Managing Partner, Axilrod Capital

    Avi Banyasz
    Partner and Co-Head, TPG Real Estate

    W. Graham Cole | Education Committee Chair, Development Committee Co-Chair
    Former Head of School, Westminster School

    Will Cook
    Founder and Portfolio Manager, Sunriver Management LLC

    Vincent Dotoli | Ex-Officio
    Founder and Head of School, Harlem Academy
    Joshua Easterly | Investment Committee Chair
    Co-Founding Partner and Co-President, Sixth Street
    Ty Elie
    Director, Office of the President, Schmidt Futures 

    Mary Ganzenmuller
    Robert L. Harteveldt
    President, Veracity Advisors

    Valarie A. Hing
    Partner, Curtis, Mallet-Prevost, Colt & Mosle LLP
    Thomas Klein
    Co-Founder, Greenwich Point Capital
    Ann MacRae | Events Committee Chair
    Trustee, Cat MacRae Fund
    Elizabeth McHenry
    Professor and Chair of the English Department, New York University
    Betsy S. Michel | Development Committee Co-Chair
    Hank Prybylski
    Vice Chair – Transformation, EY Global
    Tom Reycraft | Committee on Trustees Chair
    Founder and CEO, Benchmark Education Company, LLC
    Richard Schaps
    CEO, Van Wagner Group
    Hillary Thomas | Communications Committee Chair
    Chief Operating Officer of the Sports and Entertainment Group, Van Wagner Communications, LLC

    Melissa C. Thomas-Hunt
    John D. Forbes Distinguished Professor of Business Administration, Darden School of Business & Professor of Public Policy, Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy, University of Virginia

    Alan Washington | Audit Committee Chair
    President and CEO, Charter Schools Development Corporation
  • Trustees Emeriti

    Mark H. Johnston

    Laura B. Sillerman

Advisory Council

John Belizaire 
CEO, Soluna

Jane Bierwirth
Co-Head, Asset Management, RSR Partners

James V. Gemus
CEO and Founder, Eagle View Advisors, LLC

Doug Griebel
Co-founder and Former Chairman, Rosa Mexicano Restaurants

Shirley A. Jackson, Ph.D.
Former President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Ben Lavely
Partner, CBI Advisory

Michael Levine
Co-Head, CAA Sports

Rashanna Lynch, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer, Ryan Health

Lauren W. Marrus
CEO, Dempsey & Carroll

William E. Mayer
Founder, Park Avenue Equity Partners; Chairman Emeritus, Aspen Institute 

Alice Quinn
Adjunct Professor of Writing, Columbia University School of the Arts; Former Executive Director, Poetry Society of America
Jeremy Raccio
Portfolio Manager, UBS Asset Management

David R. Salomon
Managing Member, East End Advisor

Hunter Serenbetz
Global Digital Brand Manager, Beam Suntory

Junior Board

Wassa Bagayoko '13
Charlie Better
Kofi Boakye
​Chelsie Caruso
Dan Castelli
Joe Culley
Natalia del Rivero
Meta Fallon
Elizabeth Geldres
Dwight Greenhouse
Remy Gwertzman
Clare Hawthorne
Alexandra Idol
Spencer Ingle
Sarah Jackson
Ibrahim Kaya
Monica Gray Logothetis
Jenny Lynch
Bobby McCooey
Hayden Millington
Ayisha Morgan 
Ella Pepper
Tanner Powers
Molly Prybylski
Thad Reycraft
Kris Rodgers
Lilah Schwartz
Nicholas Wade
Zachary Wade
Liz Warner
Harlem Academy
655 St. Nicholas Avenue
New York, NY, 10030

P (212) 348-2600
F (212) 348-3500


Make a Tuition Payment
Financial and Privacy Information
Site Map
Harlem Academy is an independent school (grades K-8) that drives equity of opportunity for promising students, guiding them to thrive at the highest academic levels and one day make a mark on the world.